And if he comes to Me walking, I go to him running

There will be times in our life when we feel laziness start to creep into our hearts, when we feel that our prayers, recitation or tadabbur of the Qur’an have become such a heavy thing to do. Those good deeds that we love doing suddenly become a challenge. And we wonder, how could I fall this low? Where did my zest and passion go?

Whatever it is that we’re going through, know that we should never stop when we hit ground. Don’t let your nafs chain you, nor let the illusion of insincerity stop you from trying. Get up and trudge on through, and you will soon find that the path has been made easier. Let this hadith be your source of comfort and encouragement to keep on walking no matter what:

Rasulallah s.a.w. said that Allah s.w.t. says:
“I am just as My slave thinks I am
(i.e. I am able to do for him what he thinks I can do for him),
and I am with him if He remembers Me.
If he remembers Me in himself,
I too, remember him in Myself;

and if he remembers Me in a group of people,
I remember him in a group that is better than them;

and if he comes one span nearer to Me,
I go one cubit nearer to him;

and if he comes one cubit nearer to Me,
I go a distance of two outstretched arms nearer to him;

and if he comes to Me walking,
I go to him running.” [1]

Shaikh Uthaimeen (rahimahullah) said:

“If you see yourself relapse/deteriorate, pick yourself up by repenting and seeking Allah’s Forgiveness and by asking Him to keep you firm,
and don’t become careless and neither say, ‘Inshaa Allah, my iman will become stronger’ [without doing anything about it],
instead from right now – from the moment you feel that you are ill –
you must implement the cure.” [2]

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
🖊 References:
[1] Sahih Bukhari
[2] Tafseer Surah an-Nisaa, vol. 2, p. 53.

