Inna Lillahi Wa Inna Ilayhi Raji’oon

11351709_524188114397403_1147636486_n.jpg

Do we really understand when we say ‘Inna Lillahi wa inna Ilayhi raji’oon’ (Verily to Allah we belong, and verily to Him we shall return)?

Al-Hassan Al-Basri (rahimahullah) once said:

“Do you know its explanation? Inna Lillah (Verily to Allah we belong), means I am a worshiper / slave who belongs to Allah, wa inna Ilayhi raji’oon (and verily to Him we shall return), means I am returning back to Him. So if you know that you are worshiper / slave who belongs to Allah and that you are returning back to Him, then know that He will question you, and if you know that He will be questioning you, then prepare answers for the questions.”

On that Day, each one of us will be held accountable, no one can save us, and no excuses will be accepted – it’s far too late to appeal:
“Oh Rabb, I wanted to pray, but I was busy with my work!”
“I wanted to wear hijab, but I planned to do that after I got married.”
“I did want to give up that sin when I’m ready, but You took my life before I could do so.”

If you know you will die, then be assured you will be buried.
If you know you will be buried, then be assured you will be resurrected.
If you know you will be resurrected, then be prepared for the Questions.

